Skip to main content

Using The LSU Law Library Archives

An introduction to the unique holdings and policies of the LSU Law Library Archival Collections and a beginner's guide to archival research.

About This Guide

Here you will find a brief introduction to using archives and what makes up the archival collections at the LSU Law Library. You will also find step by step instructions on how to access the library's archives, the library's archives policies, and links to related resources. 

What Are the LSU Law Library Archival Collections?

The LSU Law Library Archival Collections record the history of the Law School, its faculty, and alumni, and their contributions to legal scholarship in Louisiana and across the globe. In addition, they contain one-of-a-kind materials relevant to the legal history of Louisiana. This includes documents, photographs, videos, and artifacts.

Highlights of the collection include the papers Paul M. Hebert created during his tenure as a judge at the US Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, Federal Judge Ginger Berrigan's  personal papers, Judge Alvin B. Rubin's records, Col. John Tucker's personal library, and numerous items that tell the story of the LSU Law School.

The LSU Law Library Archival Collections support the information needs of the LSU Law Center and are open to students, faculty, alumni, and the public.

Location and Hours

Archival materials require an appointment to be viewed. The archives room is not open to browsing. Archival materials can not be checked out. Appointments must be made with the archivist a minimum of 24 hours in advance. 

Appointments with the archivist are available between 9:00a.m. and 3:00p.m. Monday-Friday (excluding university holidays). The archives close at 4:30p.m. To make an appointment please contact libraryarchives@law.lsu.edu.

The library has a small office space on the first first floor available for those conducting archival research. 

The LSU Law Center is located on Highland Road, across from the Parade Grounds on the LSU campus. We are bordered to the west by Highland Road, to the north by Dalrymple Drive, to the east by a one-way semi-circle driveway (accessible from Dalrymple Drive only) and farther east by East Campus Drive, and to the south by Raphael Semmes Road. The old section of the Law Center faces Highland Road. The new section faces East Campus Drive.

Exit I-10 (from either direction) at the Dalrymple Drive exit. Turn right onto Dalrymple Drive and proceed approximately 1/2 mile to the Law Center. The law library is on the first floor of the Law Center building and is most easily accessed from the rear of the Law Center (across the street from University High School). 

Once inside the library, ask for the archivist at the circulation desk.




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement