Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using The LSU Law Library Archives

An introduction to the unique holdings and policies of the LSU Law Library Archival Collections and a beginner's guide to archival research.

Collections Held

The Paul M. Hebert Nuremberg Records

The records compiled by Paul M. Hebert during his service as judge on a Nuremberg Military Tribunal (Case no. 6, I.G. Farben). This collection includes trial materials, drafts of his dissenting opinion, personal notes, transcripts, research, correspondence, administrative files, and photographs. Some of these materials are available to use online through our Digital Commons website.

Judge Helen "Ginger" Berrigan Papers

Includes records related to Judge Berrigan’s legal education efforts both in Louisiana and internationally, her speeches, major decisions, correspondence, photographs, assorted awards, and memorabilia. Judge Berrigan is an LSU Law alum who was nominated by President Bill Clinton for a seat on the United States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana, where she served as chief judge from 2001-2008.

LSU Law Center Historical Collection

Materials that document the history of the Paul M. Hebert Law Center, its students, and faculty. Includes photographs, videoes, and documents.

Judge Alvin B. Rubin Papers

The personal records of Federal Appeals Judge Alvin B. Rubin, a Louisiana native and LSU Law alum who was known for his rulings on civil rights.

Colonel John H. Tucker Collection

Includes personal papers donated to the library by Col. Tucker, in addition to his professional materials related to legal scholarship and the formation of the Louisiana Law Institute.

Paul M. Hebert Speech Files

Materials related to speeches delivered by Paul M. Hebert throughout his academic and legal careers. Includes early drafts, final copies of speeches, correspondence related to Hebert’s orations, and topical reference materials. Some of these materials are available to use online through our Digital Commons website.

Paul M. Hebert's Tidelands Records

In 1965, at the request of Governor John McKeithen, Hebert took charge of the litigation involving the tidelands on behalf of the state. This lengthy case dealt with disputes over offshore oil and gas revenues between Louisiana and the federal government. This collection contains Hebert’s personal records of his work on the case.

Law Library Records

Records of the Paul M. Hebert Law Center Library at Louisiana State University. This collection includes a modest amount of correspondence, financial records, records of library holdings, administrative files, and news clippings dating back to the foundation of the Law School.

History of the LSU Law Library Archives

Efforts to make the LSU Law Library's Archival Collections available for general use began in 2012 and continue to the present day. Currently, the library has a backlog of collections waiting to be processed. Processing includes putting the items in a logical order, creating written records of the collections to assist patrons in locating the items within them that they need, and placing the materials in storage containers that will preserve them for generations to come. This is often a very time-consuming process. Selections from the library's archival collections have been made available online via Digital Commons, our digital repository. The library staff are working diligently to make more materials available both within the library and online.




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement