Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to LSU Law's 1L Student Resource Guide
This guide is designed to provide 1Ls with an introduction to available resources as well as tips on how to study, information on using the law library, and descriptions of various student organizations on campus. This guide is merely an introduction in terms of what is available for study resources. We encourage you to visit the Reference Desk located in the library on the first floor with any questions you may have. This first year at LSU Law will be a rewarding and worthwhile experience! Get involved and ask questions!
Expert Learning for Law Students by Expert Learning for Law Students is designed to help law students build the analytical skills necessary to succeed in law school, on the bar exam, and in law practice. This book reveals how successful law students and lawyers plan, monitor, and implement their work and it provides detailed guidance regarding individual student personality types and learning styles. The accompanying workbook includes questions and exercises to assist students in practicing the concepts explained in the text. The second edition includes greater emphasis on students personalizing all strategy suggestions by adapting strategies to their individual learning styles, personality types, and, most importantly, their results and their evaluations of the causes of those results. It includes additional materials designed to help students deal with law school stress and offers insights for ameliorating that stress developed within the Humanizing Legal Education movement. Tips on time management and avoiding procrastination; a revised discussion on case reading reflecting recent research; a new section on using color as a memorization tool; and a revised discussion of how to apply rules to facts and how to apply and distinguish cases are also provided.
Call Number: KF283 .S39 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Law School 101 by "A step-by-step, issue-by-issue, walk-through of the challenges that face every new law student, with the emotion and stories that bring the experience to life for the reader!"<br><br>-Paul M. Lisnek, author of The Hidden Jury<br>Executive Director, BarBri Law School Prep Program<br><br>Admit it-you've been captivated by courtroom dramas, intrigued by national lawsuits, and, overall, fascinated by the opportunity a lawyer has to change the world (while still making a decent living).<br><br>The ability to interpret the law and fight for justice gives the legal profession a unique prestige. With more law students than lawyers, however, it now appears that the power and romantic allure of the law has overshadowed reality. The daily life of law school students and attorneys is often misrepresented in popular media, and more prospective attorneys enter law school uncertain of what awaits them both in the classroom and in their career.<br><br>Some of the facts that every entering law student needs to know include:<br><br>--college majors do matter-but not in the way you think<br>--grades don't matter-as much as the LSAT<br>--there is not a job waiting for you at the end<br>--an honor code will be instilled in you<br>--you can make a difference<br><br>Finally, the truth revealed<br><br>Law School 101 is an insightful, and sometimes humorous, guide to help prospective legal scholars anticipate the trials, tribulations, and exaltation of going to law school. Becoming a lawyer is often a frightening, stressful journey, in which every resource you have must be used. Law School 101 teaches you how to avoid common pitfalls, decode myths, and, finally, how to achieve your dream of becoming an amazing lawyer.<br>
Call Number: KF283 .G66 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Law School Confidential by Law School Confidential is written for students about to embark on this three-year odyssey by students who have successfully survived. It demystifies the life-altering thrill ride that defines an American legal education by providing a comprehensive, blow-by-blow, chronological account of what to expect. It arms students with a thorough overview of the contemporary law school experience. This isn't the advice of graying professors or battle-scarred practitioners decades removed from law school. Miller has assembled a panel of recent graduates to act as "mentors", all of whom are perfectly positioned to shed light on what law school is like today. From taking the LSAT, to securing financial aid, to navigating the notorious first semester, to taking exams, to applying for summer internships, to getting on the law review, to tackling the bar and beyond...this book explains it all.
Call Number: KF283 .M55 2004
Publication Date: 2004
An Introduction to Law, Law Study, and the Lawyer's Role by This newly updated volume takes a fresh, innovative look at the subject of law and what law study and the practice of law entail. Moliterno and Lederer's book, which combines a traditional academic viewpoint with elements of law practice and ethics, continues to be widely used in orientation and introductory courses.
The American legal system can be hard to understand. Going to law school is both difficult and anxiety-producing. Introduction to Law is designed to help in both areas. Written by two highly-experienced legal educators, Introduction to Law provides the reader with a written equivalent of William & Mary Law School's famous introductory law school week. Often light-hearted, this useful and pragmatic book combines an innovative introduction to the American legal system with material on how to read and understand court cases and, critically, the lawyer's interaction with the client.
All too often, legal texts ignore people, especially the client whose need for legal advice first engages the legal system. The text shows the reader how a lawyer must ascertain facts and goals from a client and then apply what the new lawyer (or law student) has learned about law and its interpretation to solve the client's problem. Revised in 2010 to be fresher, more readable, and more timely in its current events references, Introduction to Law is an ideal book for a soon-to-be law student or for anyone who wants a better understanding of how our legal system and lawyers function.
Call Number: KF297 .M65 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Law School Labyrinth by You're in! Now what? As tough as getting into law school is, navigating the maze of social and academic requirements to make the most of a legal education can be even more difficult. Law School Labyrinth will guide students through law school from orientation to graduation and beyond. Law School Labyrinth is designed to help law students maximize their law school experience by offering essential strategies for success. Author Steven Sedberry, who left a 20-year big business career to pursue his law degree, provides a unique perspective on maximizing the law school experience and a no-nonsense approach to planning for the future. By following his "been there, done that" advice, students will learn how to read legal opinions, participate in Socratic dialogue, and assimilate and retain information necessary to succeed on law school exams. Going beyond the classroom, Law School Labyrinth provides information on summer clerkships and career advice. Fully updated and revised, Law School Labyrinth is the consummate road map for maneuvering law school.
Call Number: KF283 .S43 2011
Publication Date: 2011
Acing Your First Year of Law School by Shana Connell Noyes, consultant to Julia Roberts and director Alan Pakula on the film The Pelican Brief, and Professor Henry S. Noyes
Call Number: KF283 .N69 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Academic Legal Writing by Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works. With supporting documents available on http://volokh.com/writing, the book helps law students and everyone else involved in academic legal writing: professors save time and effort communicating basic points to students; law schools satisfy the American Bar Association's second- and third-year writing requirements; and law reviews receive better notes from their staff. The Fifth Edition, based on the author's experience teaching his newly designed Intensive Editing Workshop and First Amendment Amicus Brief Clinic, adds material on editing, rebutting counterarguments, writing strategy, identifying and using the key assets of the article, fighting "the curse of knowledge," and submitting articles to law reviews. It also adds extra examples of sound writing, as well as editing exercises.
Call Number: KF250 .V65 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Introduction to the Law and Legal System of the United States by This text provides an introduction to U.S. law. It is intended for law students, lawyers, and legal scholars from foreign countries; U.S. graduate and undergraduate college students; members of the general reading public in the United States; and anyone who seeks a "big picture" of the law and legal system. Not a casebook, it explains the major substantive areas of the law in narrative form with citations to cases and sources for additional detail. In addition to covering the principal substantive areas of the law, the book has chapters on: essential basic history and governmental structure necessary to an understanding of the legal system; the legal profession; the theory and practice of the adversary system of justice; and statutory interpretation and case law reasoning.
Call Number: KF386 .B87 2011
Publication Date: 2011
The Concept of Law by The Concept of Law is one of the most influential texts in English-language jurisprudence. 50 years after its first publication its relevance has not diminished and in this third edition, Leslie Green adds an introduction that places the book in a contemporary context, highlighting key questions about Hart's arguments and outlining the main debates it has prompted in the field. The complete text of the second edition is replicated here, including Hart'sPostscript, with fully updated notes to include modern references and further reading.
Call Number: K237 .H3 2012
Publication Date: 2012
What Every Law Student Really Needs to Know by With the aim of decreasing students' anxiety and increasing their chances of achieving academic success, What Every Law Student Really Needs to Know: An Introduction to the Study of Law prepares students to get through their first year of law school. As a valuable reference over an entire law school career, it will continue to contribute to students' academic success. With a friendly and informal writing style, this orientation to law school features: insight into how and why law school works the way it does tools, techniques, and information for understanding first-year substantive law as fully as possible an overview of the American legal system and court structure a concise review of basic civics, including the structure of American government and sources of law introductions to analytic tools and methods of reasoning clear descriptions of basic legal concepts, such as standards of review and burdens of proof a look ahead at the goals of a legal education--and the life, duties, and responsibilities of being a lawyer exercises that allow students to independently test their understanding of the material in a particular section visual aids that help students grasp and remember the material a short primer on American history and legal philosophy as each is relevant to the study of law provides a self-study resource that students may use as they need What Every Law Student Really Needs to Know: An Introduction to the Study of Law offers a companion website that includes PowerPoint slides, problems, quizzes, and additional in-class exercises--as well as teaching notes that explain how to use this complete teaching package to greatest advantage.
Call Number: KF283 .G46 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement