Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Criminal law is a blend of constitutional, statutory, and case law. Sometimes there are also regulations that might affect your situation. Whether you are researching local, state, or federal criminal law, you should:
- Identify your jurisdiction
- Use a secondary source like a treatise to find the relevant law in your jurisdiction.
- Use an annotated version of the appropriate statutory code to read the relevant section. Look for any notes or secondary sources mentioned.
- Use a citator (KeyCite or Shepard's) to update and verify your research.
- Use a secondary source for forms to help draft appropriate pleadings, motions, responsive filings, etc.
- Keep up-to-date on changes to the law by reading Current Awareness sources and re-checking citators before you argue a point before a court.
Treatises and Summaries
Criminal Law by Major emphasis is placed on the basic premises of criminal law, including its sources and general limitations. This Hornbook provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes, accomplice, and liability. Attention is also given to subjects such as causation, insanity, and conspiracy.
Call Number: KF9219 .L3 2017 (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2017
Loewy's Criminal Law in a Nutshell, 5th by This guide helps you gain an overview of and develop perspective on the area of criminal law. It is organized into eight sections for quick reference. Expert discussion explores punishment, specific crimes, and the ingredients of a crime such as mens rea and actus reus. Other topics covered include special defenses, the burden of proof, and inchoate and group criminality. It also reflects on the limitations of criminal law.
Call Number: KF9219.3 .L63 2009 (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2009
A Short and Happy Guide to Criminal Law by This book leaves newcomers to criminal law with what they need most: key concepts they can remember! Too many criminal law guides bury the novice in detailed rules when nine times out of ten mastery of the fundamental concepts is the key to success on the exam or in practice. Remembering these concepts is made easier by a "forest before the trees" organization and the use of quirky, often funny examples that stick the concepts to the reader's memory. Bonus chapters offer valuable tips for students on how to succeed in the study of the law. You'll laugh and learn.
Call Number: KF9219.85 .K46 2016 (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2015-11-03
Principles of Criminal Law by Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Call Number: KF9219.85 .L34 2017 (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2017
Criminal Law by A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Call Number: KF9219.85 .S58 2013 (4th floor & Class Reserves)
Publication Date: 2013
Substantive criminal law Third edition. by A respected set, Substantive Criminal Law analyzes the law in terms of caselaw and statutory law via the Model Penal Code. The text focuses on the ways specific crimes and general principles of criminal law are defined by state statutes and interpreted by the courts.
Extensive discussion of the Model Penal Code provides accurate assessment of the statutory particulars of each state, as well as their probable ramifications. This title also explores:
• General considerations
• Sources and general limitations
• Basic premises
• Responsibility, justification, and excuse
• Anticipatory offenses
• Crimes against the person
• Crimes relating to property
This set also includes table of cases, statutes, and authorities.
Call Number: KF9219 .L386 2018 (Reserves)
Publication Date: 2018
Wharton's criminal law 15th edition by The multivolume Wharton's Criminal Law examines and analyzes the phases of substantive criminal law in state and federal jurisdictions. This set includes:
• Specific definitions of dozens of existing and emerging types of crimes
• Discussion of the types of defenses
• Structural analysis of each basic principle of criminal law, including its roots, developments, and present status
• In-depth discussion of the American Law Institute's Model Penal Code
Instant access to primary and secondary sources relating to a case is provided.
Call Number: Online (Westlaw login required)
Publication Date: 2010-
Criminal Procedure by This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Call Number: KF9619 .L34 2017 (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2017
WEX is a collaboratively-edited and professionally-reviewed legal dictionary and encyclopedia produced by the Legal Information Institute at Cornell Law School.
Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement