Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Guides on the Web
The following are a few of the many available research guides on Constitutional Law and the United States Supreme Court. You can find additional, similar research guides by searching Google. Just be sure that your research guide is from a reputable source. When in doubt, you can always consult a librarian!
Constitutional Law and History Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library)
Covers sources on the judicial interpretation of the U.S. Constitution, historical sources for research into the creation of the U.S. and state constitutions, and provides a list of the leading treatises, reference sources, and law reviews on the Constitution and Constitutional Law.
Guide to Law Online: United States Constitution (Law Library of Congress)
Provides links to texts, commentaries, historical texts and judicial decisions.
Researching the Supreme Court of the U.S. (Supreme Court Historical Society)
Published by the Supreme Court Historical Society, this guide Identifies a selected list of books, periodicals, indexes, online databases, and other publications that may be particularly helpful when looking for information about the Supreme Court. The resources are broadly grouped by category and short descriptions are provided for each resource. The categories include: (a) the Supreme Court Justices, (b) the Supreme Court and its Procedures, (c) Supreme Court Opinions, and (d) Supreme Court Architecture and History. The resources range from the places where one can find a particular Justice’s manuscripts, to resources for finding a Supreme Court brief, to a Web site that provides a “virtual tour” of the Supreme Court building.
Supreme Court Research Guide (Georgetown Law Library)
Provides background information and suggests resources for further research on the history of the U.S. Supreme Court, the justices of the Court, and the Court's practice and decisions.
U.S. Supreme Court Research (USF School of Law)
Covers news about the Court; pending case information, opinions, briefs and petitions, oral argument transcripts, justices (biographies and other information), books and articles about the court, and statistical information about the Court.
U.S. Supreme Court Research Guide (Duke Law Library)
Describes sources and coverage of opinions, orders, briefs, oral arguments, rules, docket information, and secondary sources. The Supreme Court website is discussed first, with alternatives, paper resources, and highlights from other sites in the sections that follow.
U.S. Supreme Court Research Guide (Tarlton Law Library)
Lays out the fundamentals of Supreme Court research, locating its opinions and digests, as well as more specialized materials for practice and analysis. Since analysis involves understanding an opinion's context, this guide includes resources on the Court's history and nominations.
Legal Writing Manuals
Just Writing, Grammar, Punctuation, and Style for the Legal Writer by Companion Website: www.aspenlawschool.com/oates_enquist Adapted from the popular Legal Writing Handbook, this powerful guide focuses exclusively on the style, grammar, punctuation, and the mechanics of strong legal writing. With the authors' trademark step-by-step approach, Just Writing enables students to master a skill that will contribute to their success in both law school and practice. Proven to be effective in the classroom, the Third Edition features: honed coverage that zeroes in on style, grammar, punctuation, and the mechanics of legal writing in a concise length and format tips and techniques for every step of the writing process: planning, drafting, revising, editing, and proofreading the authors' trademark straightforward, building-block approach clear explanations and crafted examples practice exercises that allow students to use specific skills covered in the text writing for ESL students "Quick Tips" about writing integrated throughout the text a Glossary of Usage a bound-in CD with practice exercises a dedicated Teacher's Manual, with specific teaching suggestions for each chapter in the book additional teaching and testing materials on a Teaching Materials Website , available to adopters Enquist and Oates's clarity and finely honed content make Just Writing the perfect complement to any legal writing course. New professors will especially appreciate the ample teaching support that accompanies this book.
Call Number: KF250 .E57 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Writing and Analysis in the Law by A standard-setter in American legal education, Writing and Analysis in the Law provides a guide to legal writing, focusing on the importance of clear organization in written and oral communications. Developed as a textbook for a first-year law school course, the book introduces law students to the principles of research, including analyzing legal authority in cases and statues. It discusses the structure and persuasive techniques of effective appellate argument, both in briefs and in oral presentation, and makes extensive use of illustrative examples and writing exercises, on topics such as memorandums, trial briefs, and oral presentations. Lucid, compact, and up-to-date, this work consistently draws acclaim in law schools across the country. Highlights of the fourth edition include new chapters on interviewing a client, counseling a client, and analyzing questions of law.
Call Number: KF250 .S5 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Legal Writing Citation in a Nutshell by Learning legal citation is one of the difficult (and sometimes admittedly annoying) tasks that students new to the law face. This book is designed to ease that task. It initially focuses on conventions that underlie all accepted forms and systems of legal citation. Building on that understanding and an explanation of the "process" of using citations in legal writing, the book then discusses and illustrates the particular rules of The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Manual for citing cases, statutes, and all other major legal sources. Unique appendices provide useful comparative information for these two systems of citation.
Call Number: KF245 .T47 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement