When working with an unfamiliar legal topic, your goal is to learn as much about it as possible before you begin looking up primary law or even scholarly commentary.
The sources on this page are specifically designed to provide you with background information. These sources will help you to understand the history and structure of Civil Law Property, pinpoint and interpret unfamiliar terminology, and distinguish the most reliable primary sources.
Louisiana Law of Property: A Précis by 
Yiannopoulos' Civil Law Property Coursebook Ninth Edition by 
Civil Law Property Coursebook: Louisiana Legislation, Jurisprudence and Doctrine Eighth Edition by 
Understanding Islamic Law by
This Understanding treatise gives the essential foundational materials for the study of Islamic Law and covers several other pertinent fields: banking and finance, contracts, criminal law, family law, and property. The book includes Arabic terms, in English, with diacritical marks to assist in pronunciation, provides a glossary of Arabic terms, and incorporates recent developments. It is a thorough and balanced text that can be used without supplementation in a one-semester Islamic Law course.
Comparative Property Law by
Comparative Property Law provides a comprehensive treatment of property law from a comparative and global perspective. The contributors are leading experts in their fields who cover both classic and new subjects, including the transfer of property, the public-private divide, water and forest laws and the property rights of aboriginal peoples. Incorporating contributions from a variety of countries, this Handbook explores property law with a critical edge, viewing the subject through the lens of both public and private law theory and providing a springboard for further research. This unique coverage of new and emerging subjects in property law also examines developments in Africa, Latin America and China.This Handbook maps the structure and the dynamics of property law in the contemporary world and will be an invaluable reference for scholars working across the breadth of the field.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services, and is an excellent way to identify books and other materials that the Law Library does not own but that are nonetheless relevant to your research. It allows you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can use Worlcat to search for books, periodicals, CDs, and videos, as well as certain kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.