Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Louisiana Legal Aid Services: New Orleans

This resource guide provides a listing of legal aid service providers across Louisiana

New Orleans

Disability Rights Louisiana
Services – provides services relating to disabilities, including, special education, legal status, public benefits, community integration, institutional rights, employment and rehabilitation, and abuse/neglect

Address – 8325 Oak Street New Orleans, LA 70118
Phone – 1-800-960-7705
Webhttps://disabilityrightsla.org/

AIDSLaw of Louisiana, Inc
Services – free legal services to low-income persons living with HIV and AIDS; provides free assistance with HIV-related legal problems. 

Address – 3801 Canal St., Suite 331 New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone – 504-468-1631
Webhttp://www.aidslaw.org

Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans
Services – free legal services to indigent persons in immigration removal proceedings

Address – 1000 Howard Avenue, 10th floor New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone – 504-523-3755
Webhttp://www.ccano.org/programs/hacs/

Greater New Orleans Fair Housing Action Center, Inc. (FHAC)
Services – dedicated to eradicating housing discrimination through education, investigation, and enforcement activities.  Works to protect homeownership by providing mortgage counseling, guidance, and technical assistance with recovery programs and rebuilding concerns.

Address –  404 South Jefferson Davis Parkway New Orleans, LA 70119
Phone – 504-596-2100
Webhttps://lafairhousing.org/

Immigration and Refugee Services of Catholic Charities
Services – provides legal advice, translation and other services, and representation in various immigration matters.  Fees are charged on a sliding scale.

Address – 1000 Howard Avenue, Suite 600 New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone – 504-310-6909
Web - http://www.ccano.org/programs/hacs/

Louisiana Center for Children's Rights (formerly known as Juvenile Justice Project of Louisiana)
Services –  dedicated to juvenile justice reform

Address –  1600 Oretha Castle Haley Blvd.  New Orleans, LA 70113.
Phone – 504-522-5437
Webhttps://www.laccr.org/

Louisiana Civil Justice Center (LCJC)
Services – provides legal services to low-income, elderly, or disaster-affected persons in Louisiana

Phone – 504-355-0970
Webhttp://www.laciviljustice.org/

Mental Health Advocacy Service
Services – assists both children and adults, with an emphasis on obtaining government benefits and services, protecting rights, and fighting discrimination. 

Address – 1450 Poydras Street, Suite 1105 New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone – 504-568-8904
Webhttps://mhas.louisiana.gov/


Metropolitan Center for Women and Children
Services – provides 24-hour crisis line, shelter, and counseling for battered women and children.  Legal services include referrals, assistance with filing protective orders, and representation in court for protective orders.

Address –  P.O. Box 10775 New Orleans, LA 70181
Phone – 504-837-5400
Webhttp://mcwcgno.org/


New Orleans Family Justice Center
Services – dedicated to ending family violence, child abuse, sexual assault, and stalking through prevention and coordinated response by providing comprehensive client-centered, empowerment services in a single location.

Address –  701 Loyola Avenue Suite 201 New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone – 504-592-4005
Webhttp://www.nofjc.org

Orleans Parish Civil District Courthouse Self-Help Resource Center
Services – offers live help to people who go to court on their own, without a lawyer.  Offers forms, other information, and referrals to appropriate local agencies.

Address – 421 Loyola Avenue New Orleans, LA 70112
Webhttp://www.orleanscdc.com

Pro Bono Project
Services – provides free legal services in civil problems to indigents in the greater New Orleans Metropolitan area.

Address – 615 Baronne St., Suite 203 New Orleans, LA 70113
Phone – 504-581-4043
Webhttp://www.probono-no.org

Project for Older Prisoners (POPS)
Services – provides free representation in parole hearings to older prisoners (over 50) and others with serious medical conditions.

Address – 6329 Freret Street, Suite 130F Carrollton, LA 70118
Phone – 504-865-5849
Webhttp://elderlyrelease.wordpress.com/pops-project-fror-older-prisoners/


Southeast Louisiana Legal Services
Services – Louisiana's largest provider of free civil legal aid.  Serves children and families seeking protection from abuse, helps those facing foreclosure, etc., in 22 parishes. 
Address – 1010 Common St, Suite 1400A New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone – 504-529-1000
Webhttp://www.slls.org

 

 




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement