Examples and Explanations for Civil Procedure by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Civil Procedure by
Gain insight into the laws governing all of the major steps in the civil litigation process, starting with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. This text covers the major themes underlying the governing legal standards and those basic issues that the case law and literature suggest to be the most pressing. References to federal practice and procedure are provided with a discussion on the burden of complex, multi-party litigation on the judicial system.
Law of Federal Courts by
This title offers practical guidance and comprehensive coverage on all aspects of federal court jurisdiction and litigation procedure, as well as the relationship between the state and federal courts. Text reviews the federal judicial system; judicial power of the United States; diversity of citizenship; venue; law applied in federal courts; pleadings, trials, and judgments; and appellate court and Supreme Court jurisdiction.
Principles of Civil Procedure by
This Concise Hornbook covers the main points of civil procedure that any student needs to understand, and covers them briefly but thoroughly enough to be understandable. It focuses on the material covered in a typical law school course on civil procedure, tied to no one casebook. It breaks down the subject of civil procedure along the standard lines: a brief orientation; then a lengthier overview of the stages of litigation, followed by a close inspection of the major procedural problems (governing law, authority to adjudicate, former adjudication, and complex litigation); and finally some reflections in conclusion. It discusses specific problems and illustrations, with the aid of generously sprinkled diagrams and special text boxes. Special attention was given to fitting the civil procedure course's main points together to form the big picture, with each topic ending in a section on the "big idea" (separation of powers, vertical federalism, horizontal federalism, full faith and credit, or procedural due process) that the student is supposed to take from the topic.
Civil Procedure by
A concise and student-friendly study guide, Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why helps students to become more engaged in the course by offering clear explanations that demystify the material without oversimplifying it. it also offers explicit pedagogical features that include graphics, Sidebars, and Frequently Asked Questions, among others, To guide comprehension and reinforce learning. Along with an attractive two-color page design, Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why features: clear explanations of each major topic in Civil Procedure dynamic pedagogical elements that enhance learning and facilitate use: Overviews that briefly introduce and position the topic of each chapter within the context of the course, To convey to students what the topic is about and why it matters FAQs, or frequently asked questions, with straightforward answers that address common mistakes and misconceptions Sidebars that explain terminology, offer additional insights, and provide study tips and practice pointers charts, photos, and other visual material that illustrate concepts Key terms are highlighted and defined in context Chapter summaries, a list of key points to remind students of the essentials Connections, brief sections at the end of each chapter that connect the material just covered to topics in other chapters and in chapters to follow—showing students the interconnected structure of the law's framework clear and informal writing style that enables students to understand not only the rules, but also what makes them interesting and important Readable and concise, Inside Civil Procedure: What Matters and Why emphasizes the essential components of Civil Procedure and how they fit together while providing multiple platforms for testing and reinforcing student understanding and retention of key concepts and rules. *A Teacher's Manual may be available for this book. Teacher's Manuals are a professional courtesy offered to professors only. For more information or to request a copy, please contact Aspen Publishers at 800-950-5259 or legaledu@wolterskluwer.com.
Mastering Civil Procedure by
Mastering Civil Procedure provides a thorough and practical guide to the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as well as related doctrines, including personal jurisdiction, subject matter jurisdiction, and claim and issue preclusion. Not only does the book provide a concise and clear road map to civil procedure, it is designed to complement leading civil procedure case books by discussing many of the principal cases from those books. The book benefits from having been written by a civil procedure professor who, prior to teaching, litigated civil lawsuits in federal courts for 14 years with both large and small law firms. This updated edition not only addresses all of the latest amendments to the rules and updates to most major casebooks, but has also been expanded to include numerous flowcharts and other visual aids to help readers master civil procedure.
Understanding Civil Procedure by
This well-established treatise is premised on the assumption that the key to understanding the principles of civil procedure is to know why: why the principles were created and why they are invoked. The treatise is written to answer these questions as it lays out the basic principles of civil procedure. It also reflects the authors' belief that students of civil procedure can understand and appreciate complex principles when they are clearly presented; teaching civil procedure does not require dumbing it down. The authors use the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure as a model, but they also refer to different state rules and doctrines where appropriate in order to present a representative cross-section of state models. Although they discuss important civil procedure cases in the text, thus supporting the most widely used civil procedure casebooks using these same cases, they also provide useful references to secondary sources and illustrative cases for the reader who wants to explore further. Finally, they also treat thoroughly the most recent developments in personal jurisdiction and electronic discovery, with special attention to the latest rule changes affecting such discovery. The resulting treatise is sophisticated, clear, and current, equally accessible and useful to students and practitioners.
Calamari and Perillo's Hornbook on Contracts by
The expert author provides a detailed treatment of the basic rules, principles, and issues in contracts. Topics covered include offer and acceptance, parol evidence and interpretation, consideration, promissory estoppel, contracts under seal, capacity of parties, conditions, performance, and breach. The author also discusses damages, avoidance and reformation, third-party beneficiaries, assignments, and the statute of frauds. The discharge of contracts and illegal bargains are also the subject of separate chapters.
Contracts by
Examples and Explanations for Contract Law, Eighth Editionby Brian Blum provides new updates and additional cases for contract law in the student-loved Examples and Explanations format. The Examples and Explanations Series provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow modern contract law students to test their knowledge of the topics and compare their own analysis to the provided explanation. New to the Eighth Edition: New up-to-date cases in every chapter. Substantially rewritten text for added clarity and accessibility. New hypothetical illustrations in the text and new or revised examples and explanations. Professors and students will benefit from: Additional cases and updates to the text and examples while remaining faithful to the conception of a clear and accessible text, aimed at students in the basic contracts course. Diagrams as visual aids throughout to aid in understanding. A focus on recent cases and included discussion of contemporary issues, particularly in the field of standard contracting. Coverage of all the topics that are likely to be taught in the basic contracts course and included coverage of UCC Article 2 to the extent appropriate in a contracts course. A brief transnational perspective on each topic covered.
Understanding Contracts by
Understanding Contracts is designed for use by first-year law students in their contracts course. The text explains common law principles of contract law using cases and examples that students commonly encounter in this first-year course. It also explains and illustrates Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, which deals with sales of goods that are frequently covered in contracts. It includes material on the United Nations Convention on the International Sale of Goods, and the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts, appropriate to a basic course in contracts and on modern statutes regarding electronic contracting. The fifth edition describes key provisions of the recently adopted Restatement on the Law of Consumer Contracts and includes discussions of recent decisions dealing with consumer arbitration clauses. Understanding Contracts was written to help law students with what is likely to be one of their most challenging first-year courses. It explains how key concepts apply in several recurring basic fact patterns similar to those students will encounter in the course. It then builds on those fact patterns to explain how the law is more difficult to apply in business transactions with more complex facts. A key feature of Understanding Contracts that is not found in other similar books is its conscious incorporation of basic explanations of the common business practices to which the law of contracts applies. This feature helps students, many of whom have not had any background in the business world, understand contract law in the business settings in which it frequently applies. The book also provides detailed topic headings that students can use to develop their own comprehensive course outline.
Contract Law by
With dynamic learning features and visual aids, the Inside Series helps you make the most of your study time, throughout the semester and as you prepare for the final. Unlike heavily abridged treatises, the Inside Series is carefully written in a c
Principles of Criminal Law by
Expertly written to provide comprehensive coverage of the most crucial issues in a course, the Concise Hornbook Series features concise analyses by prominent scholars of basic areas of the law. The Series focuses on core principles and concepts fundamental to understanding the subject matter. LaFave's Principles of Criminal Law provides detailed discussion on the topics of responsibility, justification and excuse, inchoate crimes and accomplice liability. The book also gives attention to subjects such as causation, insanity and conspiracy.
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Law by
Employing the unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy, Examples & Explanations for Criminal Law combines textual material with well-written and comprehensive examples, explanations, and questions to test students' comprehension of the materials and to provide practice in applying information to fact patterns. The questions, which often raise a variety of issues in one fact situation, are similar to those on a law school or bar examination. New to the Eighth Edition: Discussion of self-defense and police use of force issues Impact of #MeToo movement on rape law Interesting hypothetical situations based on real cases in the last few years Professors and students will benefit from: Updated materials--utilizes well-known cases that have not made the appellate courts or even gone to litigation to make the material current and easily applicable Explanations include analysis of both prosecution and defense--this pedagogical approach provides valuable exam-writing skills for students Readable and accessible--often incorporates popular culture and humor to spark interest in students Highly recommended--by Atticus Falcon, author of Planet Law School, an orientation guide for students about to begin law school Straightforward presentation--clear, introductory text enables students to understand and apply principles Visual aids--tables and charts demonstrate legal standards and concepts
Understanding Criminal Law by
This comprehensive and clearly written Understanding treatise is frequently cited by scholars and courts in their analysis of substantive criminal law, and has been a popular source of assistance to criminal law students for the past quarter century. Understanding Criminal Law is designed to be taught in conjunction with any casebook. The topics covered are those most often raised in criminal law casebooks, and coverage of these subjects is meant to complement professors' classroom discussions. The text focuses on the basic elements of, and defenses to, all crimes; provides in-depth coverage of such crimes as homicide, rape, and theft; and covers other important topics covered in a criminal law course, such as accomplice and inchoate liability. Understanding Criminal Law also covers theories of punishment, sources of the criminal law, and overarching principles such as legality and proportionality. The common law is emphasized with extensive comparisons to the Model Penal Code and modern statutes. This edition offers the most significant updating ever, including coverage of quickly changing legal areas, such as sexual assault and self-defense law. Recent revisions to the Model Penal Code are also covered.
Understanding International Criminal Law by
This Understanding treatise is divided into four parts: The first part of Understanding International Criminal Law provides a general overview of international criminal law, including the sources of such law, important international criminal law doctrines and concepts, definitions of key terms that appear throughout the book, and various principles of jurisdiction that form the basis for the application of domestic and international law. The second part of the book focuses on a crafted selection of areas of international criminal law. While not exhaustive, the authors have provided explanation and analysis of crimes that cover a wide array of topics that will introduce the reader to many of the most important, timely, and developing areas of international criminal law. The selected topics include developing areas such as computer and internet crimes and human trafficking, and older, more traditional areas such as piracy, narcotics trafficking, and terrorism. The book provides materials on both violent and non-violent crimes. The third part of Understanding International Criminal Law covers procedural issues. This portion of the book considers the extraterritorial application of the U.S. Constitution, including the 4th, 5th, and 6th Amendments, immunities from jurisdiction, international evidence gathering procedures, obtaining people from abroad, including through abduction, and post-conviction issues such as prisoner transfer. The final part of this treatise introduces the reader to the four crimes of most concern to the international community--Aggression, Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity, and War Crimes. The book also examines the various courts and mechanisms used to bring those accused of these atrocities to justice, beginning with the Nuremberg and Tokyo precedents. Examination of these early forms of international tribunal are followed by materials examining more recent courts and mechanisms, including the International Criminal Court, Ad Hoc tribunals, hybrid tribunals and other creative variations. This book provides detailed summaries of areas of significance in international criminal law and is a wonderful resource for students studying in this area, practitioners interested in learning more about the field in general or interested in delving more deeply into a particular issue, and casual readers desiring an introduction to this fascinating and developing area of law.
Mastering Tort Law by
Mastering Tort Law is a succinct, practical guide to the intricacies of tort law. Functional in approach, it describes and illustrates basic tort doctrine, and provides students with insight into more advanced tort theories. In an attempt to facilitate student learning, the book includes a roadmap at the beginning of each chapter and a checklist at the end.
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Understanding Torts by
This Understanding treatise is the perfect complement to first-year tort courses and is suitable for use with any tort casebook. Concise and authoritative, Understanding Torts features: Comprehensive and up-to-date coverage of intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation and invasion of privacy. Judicious use of footnotes to provide full, but not overwhelming, primary and secondary support for textual propositions. Clear organization and writing to enhance understanding of basic concepts and major cases covered in a torts course. In-depth analysis of topics that generate the greatest confusion and controversy. Professors and adjunct professors may request complimentary examination copies of LexisNexis law school publications to consider for class adoption or recommendation. Please identify the book(s) you wish to receive, provide your institutional contact information, and submit your request here.
Principles of Tort Law by
This edition provides a wealth of new material drawn from summaries of and quotations from scholarly books and articles and case law. The subjects of this new material are rich in their range of topics. They include: The "precautionary principle" Summaries on tort rationales that range from references to Kantian philosophy and a riff on Harry Potter The relation of tort law to public law Varied materials on consent The duty question, including a summary of a recent Supreme Court case and scholarship in the area Material on privacy ranging from Prosser's classification system to LGBT plaintiffs The roles of race and gender in calculations of damages A criticism of "tort reform" efforts Case law on the "baseball rule" with respect to spectator injuries. Matters of topical 'headline" interest include smartphones as distractions and certain aspects of publication of photos on the Internet. Celebrities mentioned in items under different categories are Joan Rivers, Jesse Ventura, and Jim Boeheim.
Torts by
Emphasizes contemporary developments in order to reflect the shift in tort law toward the plaintiff's side and expanded liability. Expanded coverage is included on subjects such as constitutional privilege in defamation, privacy, product liability, and strict liability. Also reflects the current shift toward compulsory auto insurance and compensation plans.
Writing and Analysis in the Law by
A standard-setter in American legal education, Writing and Analysis in the Law provides a guide to legal writing, focusing on the importance of clear organization in written and oral communications. Developed as a textbook for a first-year law school course, the book introduces law students to the principles of research, including analyzing legal authority in cases and statues. It discusses the structure and persuasive techniques of effective appellate argument, both in briefs and in oral presentation, and makes extensive use of illustrative examples and writing exercises, on topics such as memorandums, trial briefs, and oral presentations. Lucid, compact, and up-to-date, this work consistently draws acclaim in law schools across the country. Highlights of the fourth edition include new chapters on interviewing a client, counseling a client, and analyzing questions of law.
Civil Rights Law and Practice Hornbook by
Tracks the materials surveyed in a number of widely used civil rights casebooks. Includes the principal Reconstruction Acts, related criminal provisions, Title VI of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, Civil Rights Attorney's Fees Act of 1976, 42 U.S.C. Section 1982, Title VIII of the 1968 Fair Housing Act, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Individuals With Disabilities Education Act, Voting Rights Acts, and the Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990. Cites several recent cases, including Buckhannon, Alexander v. Sandoval, Wilson v. Layne; Hafer v. Melo, United States v. Lanier, Kolstad v. American Dental Ass'n, and Suter v. Artist.
Examples and Explanations for Constitutional Law by
Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: Individual Rights, Ninth edition, by Allan Ides, Christopher N. May, and Simona Grossi, provides a clearly written, comprehensive examination of constitutional doctrine pertaining to individual rights. This problem-oriented study guide provides students and teachers with a highly readable and accessible study of constitutional law. Both this book and its companion volume,¿Examples & Explanations for Constitutional Law: National Power and Federalism, combine detailed textual material with real-world examples and explanations that apply the relevant constitutional doctrine to specific fact patterns. The text operates as a readable and citable treatise on the topics covered, and the examples and explanations serve as an elaboration on that text. Its unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations pedagogy combines clear textual material with well-written, comprehensive and up-to-date examples, explanations, and questions. A favorite among law school students, and often recommended by professors, this guide takes students through the principal doctrines of constitutional law covered in a typical course that includes a study of individual rights. New to the Ninth Edition: Inclusion of nearly 50 new Supreme Court cases Updated Examples & Explanations Expanded discussion of the freedom of association Richer treatment of the right to keep and bear arms Professors and students will benefit from: Hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis An alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures Straightforward, informal text that is never simplistic, and quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor Adaptability with all major Constitutional Law casebooks Authors with over 70 years of combined experience teaching Constitutional Law
Constitutional Law in a Nutshell by
This 10th edition of Constitutional Law in a Nutshell summarizes constitutional law from Marbury v. Madison (1803), to the present. The goal has been to discuss the Supreme Court's cases in enough detail to be helpful but not to be verbose in doing so. In this edition we feature thirty new cases. Some of the highlights include Rucho v. Common Cause (2-10) where the Court held 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that partisan gerrymandering is a non-justiciable issue beyond the competence of the federal judiciary. In Department of Commerce v. New York (2019), although the Court ruled that the Enumeration Clause of the Constitution grants authority to Congress and "by extension" to the Secretary of Commerce to include a question about citizenship on the 2020 Census questionnaire, the Court could not approve it because the rationale presented to the Court was contrived and was based on a pretext. In Timbs v. Indiana (2019), the Court demonstrated that there still is vitality in the incorporation doctrine and held that the Excessive Fines Clause of the Eighth Amendment is an "incorporated" protection applicable to the States under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. As ever, the free expression area is once again fertile ground for generating Supreme Court case law. In Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (2018), the Supreme Court, per Justice Alito, 5-4, reversed the 40 year old Abood v. Detroit Board of Education (1977) precedent and held that its ruling requiring non-union members of a public sector union to pay for the collective bargaining of the union is a violation of the First Amendment. In Matal v.Tam (2017), the Court unanimously held that a Lanham Act provision prohibiting the registration of trademarks that "disparage--or bring--into contempt or disrepute" any persons living or dead is a violation of the First Amendment. In the area of freedom of religion, the Court in Trump v. Hawaii (2018), held, 5-4, per Chief Justice Roberts, that a Proclamation prohibiting or limiting the entry into the United States of nationals from seven countries with Muslim majorities did not violate the Establishment Clause. The Proclamation could reasonably be justified on grounds of national security rather than religious hostility. In American Legion v. American Humanist Association (2019), the Court held, 7-2, per Justice Alito, that the Bladensburg Peace Cross, erected in 1925 on public land in Maryland as a memorial to veterans of World War I did not constitute a violation of the Establishment Clause. Government action which removes monuments that have religious symbolism and that have long been on public land could be seen as "aggressively hostile to religion." Finally, in this edition, as in previous ones, the goal has been to present the essence of the Court's decisions in a concise, readable and understandable way.
Constitutional Law by
This treatise provides a detailed, up-to-date, and comprehensive analysis of American constitutional law. It examines the issues that are studied and litigated today and discusses the origins of judicial review and federal jurisdiction, the sources of national authority, the growth of federal commerce and fiscal powers, and the limits on state laws that burden interstate commerce. It analyzes individual liberties and due process, including freedom of speech and religion, federal powers to enforce the Bill of Rights, and limitations on the jurisdiction of federal courts. Finally, it examines the separation of powers, including the restrictions on the foreign affairs power.
Understanding the First Amendment by
The overarching objective of Understanding the First Amendment is to facilitate student learning efficiency and academic success. Toward this end, it focuses upon core subject matter that is likely to be tested in a law school examination or on the bar examination. The book also provides tools that enable students to organize the course and their understanding in a way that enhances retention. The beginning of each chapter highlights key points of coverage. The end of each chapter indicates essential points to remember. The book strikes a balance between comprehensiveness and selectivity, thus providing students with assurance that they know enough, know it well, but are not overwhelmed by details that are unduly esoteric or irrelevant to their performance needs. The seventh edition covers all of the recent relevant decisions, including Iancu v. Brunetti; Manhattan Community Access Corp. v. Halleck; Matal v. Tam; The American Legion v. American Humanist Assocation; National Institute of Family and Life Advocates v. Becerra; Minnesota Voters Alliance v. Mansky; Janus v. American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees; Masterpiece Cakeshop Ltd. V. Colorado Civil Rights Commission; Expressions Hair Design v. Schneiderman; Packingham v. North Carolina; and Trinity Lutheran Church of Columbia, Inc. v. Comer.
Criminal Procedure II by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Criminal Procedure by
This title analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks. All major themes are covered, with emphasis upon those basic issues deemed most significant in the case law and literature. Because of their special importance, leading Supreme Court opinions are given in-depth treatment. All Hornbook sections are cross-referenced to comparable sections of the authors' 7-volume Criminal Procedure treatise (readily available on Westlaw database CRIMPROC) containing more detailed analysis and citations to additional supporting authorities.
Criminal Procedure by
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Understanding Capital Punishment Law by
The primary emphasis of Understanding Capital Punishment Law is an explanation of the constitutional law that governs death penalty proceedings in the United States. As of 2017, the death penalty remains an option in 31 states and under federal and military law. The cruel and unusual punishment language of the Eighth Amendment has largely defined both the substance and procedures in capital cases. In this book, the parameters of death penalty cases are examined, and established principles as well as unresolved issues are analyzed. In the few years since the third edition, significant changes have occurred in death penalty law, procedure, and practice. The fourth edition presents the most up-to-date information and trends in death penalty law. Students, practitioners, judges, activists, and others interested in the complexities of capital punishment law will benefit from the explanations and commentary this book presents.
Understanding Juvenile Law by 
Moynihan's Introduction to the Law of Real Property by
After setting forth the history necessary to the reader's understanding of our modern estates system, the monograph in separate chapters treats all of the freehold estates, nonfreehold estates, present interests, future interests, and concurrent estates. It also discusses the conveyancing and recording systems prevalent in the United States. While this edition adheres closely to the highly regarded prior editions, it updates the material to take into account developments in the just completed Third Restatement of Property (Wills and Other Donative Transfers).
Examples and Explanations for the Law of Torts by
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Property by
Property: Examples & Explanations, Fifth Edition, is a study aid that offers clear textual introductions to legal terms and concepts in property law, followed by examples and explanations that test and apply the reader's understanding of the material covered. Both authors have years of experience presenting material in a clear and compelling way. With its rich pedagogy that features boldfaced legal terms and visual aids, Property: Examples & Explanations fills a niche distinct from other books. The six-part topical organization matches the coverage of most first-year property courses and follows the organization of the best-selling casebook by Dukeminier, Krier, Alexander & Schill. Accomplished authors Barlow Burke and Joseph Snoe assure that the rules and doctrines making up the first year course on the law of property are well covered. Features: Clear and readable text Rich pedagogy includes boldfaced legal terms and visual aids, such as charts and diagrams, especially for common-law estates--a topic that lends itself to diagrammatic presentation Coverage of fundamental and widely taught rules and doctrines Expanded coverage of Fixtures Reinforcement of terminology in Estates in Land and in Future Interests Uses illustrative examples in the overview of Future Interests and of Rule Against Perpetuities Expanded discussion and explanation of trusts Added material on key new Supreme Court cases, including Arkansas Game & Fish Commission v. United States and Marvin M. Brandt Revocable Trust v. United States. Expanded coverage on the Stop the Beach Renourishment Comments on conceptual severance cases
Law of Property by
Trustworthy and modern source on property laws surveys estates in land--present, future, and concurrent, comparable interests in personalty, landlord and tenant law, and rights against neighbors and other third persons. Also examines easements and profits, running covenants, governmental controls on land use, land contracts, conveyances, titles, and recording systems. Contains footnote citations to leading court decisions for easy location of primary authority.
Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions by
"Understanding Modern Real Estate Transactions covers issues in residential real estate transactions and commercial real estate transactions. This treatise provides case analysis, focusing on the cases relevant to modern real estate. Numerous simple hypotheticals throughout the text explain the more complicated theories and rules."--
Understanding Property Law by
Understanding Property Law is a comprehensive and authoritative treatise from our Understanding series that is suitable for use in conjunction with any Property casebook. Features include: Complete coverage of all standard property topics, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, estates and future interests, marital property, land sale transactions, servitudes, nuisance, zoning, takings, and other land use issues; Analysis of cutting-edge topics, such as property rights in human bodies, current takings issues, the new Restatement (Third) of Property (Servitudes), rights and duties of homeowners associations, and property rights in personal names and likenesses; Discussion of the policy and historical underpinnings of property law doctrines; and Clear writing and detailed organization to facilitate student understanding of both basic concepts and controversial topics.
Yiannopoulos' Civil Law Property 10th Edition by
US
Real Property in a Nutshell by
This concise work discusses most rules covered in real property casebooks. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation.
Phillips's Legal Research Exercises, Following the Bluebook by
This legal research exercise book helps students master efficient legal research skills through hands-on problems. The 12th edition contains fifteen assignments, with all new problems. Each assignment contains four variations: two variations using the print materials, one exercise using Westlaw Classic or WestlawNext, and one exercise using Lexis.com or Lexis Advance. This format provides instructors more flexibility in what exercises they assign and when they assign them. The assignments cover basic legal research, including reporters, digests, citators, statutes, and advanced materials including federal legislative history and federal administrative law. There are also review problems, appropriate for basic and advanced legal research classes. The new edition's questions/answers follow the 19th edition of The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation (2010).
Basic Legal Research by
This best-selling coursebook on legal research is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the text breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation, and an accompanying workbook provides exercises to test comprehension. The Fifth Edition provides thoroughly updated coverage of the research platforms such as WestlawNext, Lexis Advance, and Google Scholar, including the most current information about their features and use. All sample pages and screen shots have been updated. Features: Accessible, clear, step-by-step instruction on the basics of legal research Building-block approach breaks material into discrete and comprehensible parts Self-contained chapters on research sources flexible for any type of legal research course Useful pedagogy end-of-chapter checklists clear examples summary charts Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources Accompanying workbook with exercises Thoroughly updated, the Fifth Edition presents: Fresh coverage, most current information about features and use of research platforms, including WestlawNext Lexis Advance Google Scholar All sample pages and screen shots updated
Strategic Legal Research by
Applying the perspective of the reader to the craft of writing, Legal Writing for Legal Readers teaches the differences between strong and weak legal writing by letting students read examples of both. Students discover how productive it can be to read a well-articulated argument, as compared to one that is illogical and ill conceived. We arenand’t always able to identify our own faults as writersand—but as readers, we can see clearly the merits of both the argument and its presentation. The authorsand’ sidebars and annotations highlight why one writer fails while another succeeds. Students realize the significance of their own behavior as readers and how that behavior should dictate their writing decisions. As readers, students learn to recognize the specific elements of analysis and structure that make legal writing effective. As writers, they will make better and more informed choices, when they think about it from a readerand’s perspective. Using the studentand’s own experience as a reader to shed light on what makes legal writing succeed or fail, Legal Writing for Legal Readers features: A range of both strong and weak legal documents, selected to illustrate legal writing concepts Broad coverage that includes memos and briefs, as well as complaints, correspondence, and criminal motions Sidebar comments from the authors that provide context and insight Annotations that incorporate cognitive and behavioral theories to explain why some approaches work better than others Authors with a wealth of experience, in both teaching and practice