Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Secondary Sources
Secondary sources are sources that summarize, explain, or analyze the law. While they are not authoritative sources of law, they are still valuable research tools.
Secondary sources can point you toward relevant primary law by providing citations to case law and statutes. When there is no primary authority to govern a dispute in a jurisdiction, secondary sources may also provide guidance to a court in fashioning a new rule.
Secondary sources frequently contain policy discussions analyzing novel legal issues and the social consequences of legal rules. These discussions can be helpful when the applicable case law does not include the relevant policy arguments.
This page covers a few of the major treatises and journals in the area of appellate advocacy, as well as the law library catalog and other tools for locating secondary sources.
LSU Law Library Catalog
The best way to locate books and other print materials is through the LSU Law Library catalog, which is searchable from the Law Library's home page. The catalog allows you to search in a variety of ways, including by author, title, subject, and keyword.
Other LSU Libraries
The LSU Library or other LSU library collections may contain materials relevant to your research that are not held by the Law Library. These collections can be searched from the LSU Libraries homepage at www.lib.lsu.edu.
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services, and is an excellent way to identify books and other materials that the Law Library does not own but that are nonetheless relevant to your research. It allows you to search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You can use Worlcat to search for books, periodicals, CDs, and videos, as well as certain kinds of digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public. Because WorldCat libraries serve diverse communities in dozens of countries, resources are available in many languages.
If you have identified books or other materials that are necessary to your research but not held by the Law Library, you may put in a request to borrow those materials through Interlibrary Loan.
Requests for interlibrary loans should be made through ILLiad. If you are a first time LSU Law ILLiad User, you will need to create a username and password before submitting your requests.
Books are generally sent by UPS or U.S. Mail, which can take 1-2 weeks for your loan to arrive. International requests may take longer. Photocopies are usually sent by e-mail, fax, or other electronic means and may arrive within 2-3 days. The ILL staff assumes that all material is needed in a timely manner and makes every effort to get the material to this campus in the shortest time possible.
You will receive an email notification when the requested materials have arrived, and may pick them up at the Law Library Circulation Desk. Photocopied material is sent electronically to the e-mail address listed on the patron’s ILLiad record. The loan period is set by the lending library. In most circumstances, books are loaned for 4 weeks. You will find the due date marked on the book band when you pick up your materials.
Federal Practice Treatises
Appellate Advocacy Journals
Legal Research Databases
Bloomberg legal content, integrated into an already powerful system of primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news.
Includes full-text access to law journals, American Law Institute restatements, bar journals, U.S. primary source materials, trials, legal classics, international law resources, etc.
Legal Scholarship Network
Research papers and journals on legal, economics and business topics; available through SSRN (Social Science Research Network).
LexisNexis Law School
Offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily. (Requires individual password. Ask for information at the Reference Desk.)
Comprehensive full text legal database available to users with Westlaw IDs. (Requires individual password. Ask for information at the Reference Desk.)
LSU Libraries Databases
In addition to the databases listed here and on the Law Center Library's website, LSU law students have access to any of the databases available through the main campus libraries. These databases can be searched alphabetically or by subject at the following link.
Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement