Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The U.S. legal profession is among the most demanding in the world when it comes to legal citation. In many countries, complicated and/or uniform citation formats are neither used nor expected.
If you are writing a seminar paper or an article for a U.S. journal, you should cite foreign law resources as prescribed by the Bluebook. Table 2 contains basic citation formats for primary law sources from foreign jurisdictions. Secondary sources should be cited in accordance with the relevant Bluebook rules.
Where the Bluebook does not offer sufficient guidance, you may consult additional citation guides, including the ones listed below. However, when in doubt, you should always default to Bluebook format or check with a librarian for additional assistance.
The Bluebook by
Call Number: KF245 .B58 19TH ED. 2010
Publication Date: 2010-05-02
For more than eighty years, The Bluebook has provided authoritative guidance to legal citation for American students, professionals, and scholars. Wire-bound to lie flat and fully indexed.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations by
Call Number: K89 .G85 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-18
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules. Including 45 country citation systems, as well as citation rules for international organizations, tribunals, and treaties, the updated Second Edition offers updated and expanded coverage. The only reference that focuses entirely on international citation, Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citation, Second Edition, features: manageable length, convenient Wire-O binding, and easy-to-use page format logical three-part organization: Country Citation Guides Citation Guides for International Organizations Citation Guides for International and Regional Tribunals a Country Profile for each listing followed by its Citation Guide examples that reflect acceptable variability of citation in practice English translations of foreign words in parentheses for ease of use citation instructions that contain both source content and formatting instructions references to useful Internet material New to the Second Edition: coverage expanded to include Singapore coverage of Sharia Law, providing an explanation of Sharia Law, sources of Sharia Law, the various schools of Sharia Law, and a list of countries that use Sharia Law Complementing the ALWD Citation Manual and the Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers as an indispensable reference tool in law school, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations, Second Edition, constitutes an important contribution to legal research and writing.
Call Number: KD400 .O83 2012
Publication Date: 2012-04-26
There are two golden rules for the citation of legal authorities. One is consistency. The other is consideration for the reader. Legal writing is more persuasive when the author refers to legal materials in a clear, consistent and familiar way. The Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities (OSCOLA) helps authors to achieve consistency in citing cases, legislation and secondary sources. And it helps authors to make life easier for their readers.OSCOLA is widely used by law schools and legal publishers both in the United Kingdom and abroad. This latest revision of OSCOLA (the fourth edition) is the first to be published in hard copy, and provides more detailed coverage of both primary and secondary legal sources.
Canadian Guide to Uniform Legal Citation by
Call Number: KE259 .C36 2010
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
This practical book is a bilingual and bijuridical guide to citation of legal materials. Now in its 8th edition, the Guide provides a straightforward, uniform approach to citation of government documents, case law, legislation, periodicals, monographs and other secondary materials across all jurisdictions. This Guide has been officially adopted by various courts and major law reviews across Canada, establishing itself as an important tool for legal research and writing.
Foreign Legal Abbreviations
The Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law.
A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included. Publications from over 295 jurisdictions are featured in the Index.
The database mainly covers law reports and law periodicals but some other legal publications are also included. The Index is under continuous development with new abbreviations and titles being added on a regular basis.
Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement