Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

European Union Law: Journal Articles and News Sources

This guide contains tips and resources for researching the laws of the European Union.

European Union Legal and News Websites

Council of the EU is a website which includes EU Council press releases, a register of internal documents (with links to the full text in many instances) and general information about the work of the EU Council and the European Council.

Curia is the official website of the EU courts. This website includes an extensive database of cases and numerical case indexes. Also provides the new official electronic-only European Court Reports, the Statute of the Court of Justice, procedural rules, annual reports, news and other information.

Der Spiegel International, the German news weekly has an English-language news website.

EUbusiness is a leading European independent online business information service about the European Union. EUbusiness provides daily-updated news and information about EU policy, legislation, economic data and opportunities to a fast-growing membership of over 55,000 business professionals, of which more than 14,000 receive the weekly email newsletter EUbusiness Week.

European Union Newsroom is the EU's news website, with press releases from all the EU institutions and agencies, plus factsheets and a calendar of events. 
 
JuraBlogs is a directory of German-language law-related blogs. Users can register to receive daily alerts of blog posts discussing law in Germany.
 

Juriguide (available only in French language) is a French legal news website.

JURIST is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by a mostly-volunteer team of over 60 part-time law student reporters, editors and Web developers led by law professor Bernard Hibbitts at the University of Pittsburgh School of Law in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA. JURIST is produced as a public service for the continuing legal education of its readers and law student staffers, and uses the latest Internet technology to track important legal news stories and materials and present them rapidly, objectively and intelligibly in a widely-accessible format.

Legal Tribune Online is a free online journal of legal news from Germany, created and maintained by Jurion (a development initiative of the Wolters Kluwer publishing company). It includes articles on recent news, as well as more in-depth background information on current topics in German law. A free email newsletter is also available.

SOS-Net (available only in French language)  is a French legal website/database for the general public. 

General Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 7,900 scholarly publications, indexing and abstracting over 11,000 journals, and with coverage as far back as 1865; available through EBSCOhost.

Access World News

"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)

Cambridge Journals Online

Includes full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full text reference collection containing over 140 titles, covering subjects ranging from the Law to the Arts.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

Full text scholarly journal literature.

Newspaper Source

Cover to cover full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; selective full text for 389 regional(U.S.); available through EBSCOhost.

Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.)

EBSCO's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe.

PAIS International

The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Contains abstracts on over 300,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection currently containing over 250,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. Some articles are fee-based.

Vente et Gestion

Full text coverage for French language business journals covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others; available through EBSCOhost.

Legal Databases

Bloomberg Law

E-Competitions and Concurrences
Foreign and International Law Resources Database
HeinOnline
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
Legal Collection
Legal Scholarship Network
LexisNexis Law School
Westlaw

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, or IFLP, is a tool to help you identify articles from foreign law journals and other periodicals.  It is available through HeinOnline and uses the same search syntax as other HeinOnline databases.

It is important to note that this source is an index and not a full-text database. Your search results will consist primarily of bibliographic records.  Where the full text of an article is available in HeinOnline, a link will be provided.  However, even if the text is not available, you can use the information in the bibliographic record to locate the article in print, in another online database, on the internet, or through interlibrary loan.  For resources available only in print, the IFLP will often be the only way for you to identify the article title, journal title, author name, and other information that you need to retrieve the material.

To see what an IFLP record looks like, please view the video in the box to the right of this text.  Additional video tutorials for the IFLP are available on YouTube using the link below.

LSU Libraries Database

LSU Libraries logo

LSU Libraries Database List

In addition to the databases listed here and on the Law Center Library's website, LSU law students have access to any of the databases available through the main campus libraries. These databases can be searched alphabetically or by subject at the following link.




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement