Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Law: Journal Articles and News Sources

This resource guide is meant to assist students in researching French law.. Additional materials are available; please feel free to stop by the reference desk for assistance.

Legal Databases

Bloomberg Law ‚ÄčBloomberg legal content, integrated into an already powerful system of primary and secondary legal content, company and market information and news.

HeinOnline includes full-text access to law journals, American Law Institute restatements, bar journals, U.S. primary source materials, trials, legal classics, international law resources, etc.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library includes full text (pdf format), retrospective holdings of over 1,400 law reviews and legal journals. Full text searching is available, as well as browse searching by most-cited law journals, core U.S./most cited law journals, American Bar Association journals, international and non-U.S. law journals, and criminal justice journals.

Legal Collection contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected, scholarly law journals; available through EBSCOhost.

Legal Scholarship Network contains research papers and journals on legal, economics and business topics; available through SSRN (Social Science Research Network).

LexisNexis Law School offers full-text online news, business, legal, legislative, and regulatory information, updated daily. (Requires individual password. Ask for information at the Reference Desk.)

Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International  Law, 1600-1926 gives any library the kind of historical resources previously found only at the largest and oldest repositories and gives even the most extensive libraries online access to foreign and international legal literature. FCIL includes pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries, in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law; Roman Law; Islamic Law; Jewish Law; and Ancient Law.

Westlaw provides comprehensive full text legal database available to users with Westlaw IDs. (Requires individual password. Ask for information at the Reference Desk.)

Foreign Law Guide (FLG) is acclaimed by librarians, academics, and researchers alike, the FLG is a foundational database offering relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations and selected references to secondary sources in one virtual destination. Broad in scope and content, the FLG is an indispensable resource for comparative law research and a fundamental tool for developing a foreign and comparative law collection. Approximately 190 jurisdictions are systematically covered and updated by a global team of experts.

French Legal Websites

Légifrance (available primarily in French with some English translation) is the official webiste of the French legal system; includes translations of French codes and laws in English

Juriguide (available only in French language) is a French legal news website.

SOS-Net (available only in French language)  is a French legal website/database for the general public. 

LSU Libraries Database

LSU Libraries Database List

In addition to the databases listed here and on the Law Center Library's website, LSU law students have access to any of the databases available through the main campus libraries. These databases can be searched alphabetically or by subject at the following link.

Journal Articles and News Sources

Law reviews, peer-reviewed journals, and news sources are all good places to find information on French law. These mediums can also help one in identifying and finding primary law that is relevant to your research.  The information provided on this page will help you to discover articles using legal databases and general databases.

General Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete

A multi-disciplinary database providing full text for over 7,900 scholarly publications, indexing and abstracting over 11,000 journals, and with coverage as far back as 1865; available through EBSCOhost.

Access World News

"The most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, Access World News provides extensive coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. This fully searchable Web-based resource features the vast majority of the top U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with hundreds of hard-to-find local and regional titles, most of which are unavailable elsewhere. Additionally, Access World News offers hundreds of international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages." (Newsbank)

Cambridge Journals Online

Includes full text for journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Full text reference collection containing over 140 titles, covering subjects ranging from the Law to the Arts.

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

Full text scholarly journal literature.

Newspaper Source

Cover to cover full text for nearly 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers; selective full text for 389 regional(U.S.); available through EBSCOhost.

Newswires (AP, UPI, etc.)

EBSCO's News Harvester provides near real-time access to thousands of top news feeds from around the globe.

PAIS International

The PAIS International database from CSA contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed. PAIS International includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Contains abstracts on over 300,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection currently containing over 250,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. Some articles are fee-based.

Vente et Gestion

Full text coverage for French language business journals covering topics such as accounting & tax, administration, industry & manufacturing, marketing, logistics, technology and others; available through EBSCOhost.

 




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement