Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mobile Apps for Law Students and Lawyers: Courts and Dockets

This resource guide provides a listing of mobile applications helpful to law students and lawyers, including study aids, legal research tools, legal news, productivity solutions, and much more.

CAUTION

LSU Law Library neither endorses these legal applications (apps) nor guarantees the accuracy of the information contained in them.

This library guide is for informational purposes only. This information was compiled solely for the convenience of the user. Presently, the list includes apps for iOS and Android mobile devices. Some of these apps are free of charge while others require a purchase or subscription.

Descriptions of the apps are taken directly from the app developer's descriptive text where possible. Any claims made in the descriptions are claims made by the developer not by LSU Law library. 

If you are aware of any legal mobile applications not mentioned here and/or would like to add your favorite legal apps to the list, please email reference@law.lsu.edu.

Dockets

Docket Navigator - free - Android & iOS
Docket Navigator maintains a database of patent litigation activity in the U.S. district courts, patent infringement investigations in the ITC, and IPR, PGR and CBM proceedings in the Patent Trial and Appeal Board. We gather public information, clean and normalize the data and add layers of metadata to assist in searching. More than 13,000 patent professionals subscribe to Docket Navigator including 88% of the AmLaw 100 law firms and hundreds of in-house lawyers and judges.

U.S. Supreme Court

​SCOTUSblog - free - iOS

Stay informed about breaking Supreme Court news and commentary with SCOTUSblog's award-winning electronic media and online coverage. Get complete access to filings and coverage in all merits cases and the most important petitions. Explore multimedia through statistics, video resources and polls. Scan top headlines for must-read stories. Contrast perspectives on cases from guest contributors via Special Features.

OYEZ -free - iOS

Oyez (pronounced oh-yay), a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Chicago-Kent College of Law and Justia.com, is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is a complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full text Supreme Court opinions. Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement