Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Louisiana Legislative History Materials: To Find Information about Acts (Session Laws)

If you know the sponsor, search:

Acts, State of Louisiana, Index of Act number by Author, [year]. The index is in the rear of the volume.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection; 3rd Floor Louisiana Research Collection, 1st Floor Microform Room: Cabinet 17 Drawer 6

If you know the act number, search:

Acts, State of Louisiana [year]. The acts are arranged in numerical order.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 3rd Floor Louisiana Research Collection, 1st Floor Microform Collection: Cabinet 17, Drawer 6

Resumé of Acts, Vetoed Bills and Propositions, section on statutes enacted, where new law is compared with prior law.

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

Louisiana Statutes Annotated: Tables volume, "Acts and Resolutions" table, for changes effected.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 2nd Floor State Statutes Collection

If you know the subject of the act, search:

Acts, State of Louisiana [year]: "Index to Acts" in the rear of the volume.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 3rd Floor, Louisiana Research Collection, 1st Floor Microform Room: Cabinet 17, Drawer 6

Louisiana Statutes Annotated, General Index volumes. Then check annotations immediately following cited statute section or code article.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 2nd Floor State Statutes Collection

Resumé of Acts, Propositions, and Vetoed Bills: "Subject Index" then use statutes enacted section in same volume.

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

If you know the bill number of the act, search:

Acts, State of Louisiana, list of acts by bill number, in the rear of the volume.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 3rd Floor Louisiana Research Collection, 1st Floor Microform Room: Cabinet 17, Drawer 6

Resumé of Acts, Tables regarding final disposition of House and Senate bills.

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

If you know the statutory citation, search:

Acts, State of Louisiana [year], cross-reference tables at rear of volume.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 3rd Floor, Louisiana Research Collection

Louisiana Statutes Annotated, see the Historical and Statutory Notes annotations immediately following statute section or code article.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 2nd Floor State Statutes Collection

To find the full text of acts, search:

Louisiana Legislature Home Page (1997 -)

The acts are arranged in numerical order.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 3rd Floor Louisiana Research Collection




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement