Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Finding Louisiana Legislative History Materials: To Find Information about Bills

If you know the sponsor of a bill, search:

Legislative Calendar of the Legislature of the State of Louisiana: "Author Index"

LOCATION: 2nd Floor, Louisiana Collection KFL18 .L44 [year]

If you know the subject of the bill, search:

Resumé of Acts, Propositions, and Vetoed Bills: "Subject Index"

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

If you know the bill number, search:

Legislative Calendar of the Legislature of the State of Louisiana.

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL18 .L44 [year]

Resumé of Acts: Tables regarding final disposition of House and Senate bills.

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year] Louisiana Legislature Home Page URL: http://www.legis.state.la.us/

If you know the revised statute section or code article, search:

Louisiana Statutes Annotated: "Historical and Statutory Notes" annotation.

LOCATIONS: Main Reading Room, 2nd Floor State Codes Collection, 3rd Floor Louisiana Research Collection

Resumé of Acts, Vetoed Bills and Propositions: table listing changes effected

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

If you know that a bill was vetoed, search:

Resumé of Acts, "Listing of Vetoed Bills", which will include the governor's veto message

LOCATION: 2nd Floor Louisiana Collection KFL 15 .L68 [year]

To find the full text of bills, search:

Louisiana Legislature Home Page (1997 -)

For bills from 1950 to 1969, see bound volumes at

KFL 6 .L686 [year] (House bills)

KFL 6 .S46 ([year] Senate bills) in the Louisiana Collection, 2nd Floor

For bills from 1970-current, see 1st Floor Microform Room, cabinet 46, drawers 3-6.

WESTLAW:

LA-BILLTXT: Full text of all available bills (introduced, amended, and enacted versions) from the current session of the Louisiana                         legislature. This database also contains a legislative session status calendar providing the latest information about session status, adjournment dates, and action deadlines.

LEXIS: LA Library,

LATEXT File: Full text of all published versions of Louisiana bills.

To find the status of bills:

Call the Legislature's PULSline (342-2456 or 1-800-256-3793) for the status of current bills.

WESTLAW

LA-BILLS: Summary bill tracking materials (summary of bill and status information), as well as the full text of all available bills (introduced, amended, and enacted versions. Current data only.)

LA-BILLTRK: Contains summaries and status information concerning current legislation. Bills are tracked from their introduction throughout the legislative process. Each bill summary is a document. This database also contains a legislative session status calendar providing the latest information about session status, adjournment dates, and action deadlines.

LA-LEGIS-OLD: tracking information for bills dating from 1987 to 1996.

LEXIS: LA Library, Legislative files.

LATRCK: Louisiana bill tracking for the current year. Pending bills tracked from introduction to enactment or veto. Bill tracking files are updated daily.

LATEXT: Full text of all published versions of Louisiana bills.

LABILL: Combined LATRCK and LATEXT files.




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement