Skip to main content

Mobile Apps for Law Students and Lawyers: Legal Research and Writing

This resource guide provides a listing of mobile applications helpful to law students and lawyers, including study aids, legal research tools, legal news, productivity solutions, and much more.

CAUTION

LSU Law Library neither endorses these legal applications (apps) nor guarantees the accuracy of the information contained in them.

This library guide is for informational purposes only. This information was compiled solely for the convenience of the user. Presently, the list includes apps for iOS and Android mobile devices. Some of these apps are free of charge while others require a purchase or subscription.

Descriptions of the apps are taken directly from the app developer's descriptive text where possible. Any claims made in the descriptions are claims made by the developer not by LSU Law library. 

If you are aware of any legal mobile applications not mentioned here and/or would like to add your favorite legal apps to the list, please email reference@law.lsu.edu.

Legal Writing

 

Cite-Checker - $1.99 - Android

“Cite-Checker” is a user-friendly and concise guide to Bluebook citation form for legal practitioners. The App provides an overview of Bluebook citation form with plain English explanations of Bluebook rules and clear examples illustrating those rules. Coverage includes federal and state cases, federal and state statutes, secondary authorities (such as books, law review articles, and Restatements), punctuation, quotations, information on how to use the short forms id. and supra, and more.

Dictionaries


Law Dictionary and Guide - free- iOS & Android
Law dictionary. Pro version is available for small fee. 

 

 

Black's Law Dictionary, 10th Edition - $54.99 - iOS
Contains more than 45,000 terms, alternate spellings or equivalent expressions for more than 5,300 terms, and West key numbers.

 

Nolo's English Law Dictionary - free - iOS
As the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses, Nolo now offers students, accountants, paralegals, and everyone whose work or life is touched by the law, a complete and up-to-date legal dictionary—designed for the palm of your hand.

 

Translegal's Law Dictionary - $24.99 - Android
TransLegal’s Law Dictionary is the definitive dictionary of law for non-native speakers of English. It is the only dictionary of law designed specifically to help lawyers and law students working in English as a second language.

 

Comprehensive

Lexis Advance - free - iOS
 Whether you are in the court room or on your morning commute, conduct comprehensive research quickly to find relevant results.  
Please note you must have a current Lexis Advance subscription and valid ID/password to utilize this app.

 

Westlaw - free - iOS & Android
 Tap into the world's most advanced legal research system on-the-go. Access familiar WestlawNext features including, WestSearch™, KeyCite™, Folders, History, document notes and highlighting, browse database content and more -- all redesigned for the iPad multi-touch screen. WestlawNext account required. 

 

HeinOnline - free - iOS & Android
View the image-based PDFs, access content by citation, browse by volume, navigate a volume with the electronic table of contents, and use full advanced searching techniques.  
HeinOnline account/authentication is required.

 

Statutes and Case Law Library by PushLegal - free - iOS & Android
Statutes and Case Law Library is a cost-effective, mobile alternative to expensive legal resources like LexisNexis, Westlaw, Fastcase, and antiquated legal statutes and case law deskbooks. With PushLegal’s simple point-and-click navigation, you can quickly find the specific rule or statute you’re looking for, and PushLegal will show you the leading case law associated with that specific rule or statute.

Fast Case - free - iOS & Android
Fastcase for Android is a free legal research application, putting the American law library in the palm of your hand. Fastcase contains cases and statutes from all 50 states and from the federal government. You can search by citation, keyword (in Boolean or natural language), or browse statute collections.

Arbitration

ABA DR Info Center - free - iOS & Android
Easily search American Arbitration Association® Rules, Codes and Protocols, and Contact Information – from anywhere.

 

Cover art

American Arbitration Association - free - Android
Easily search American Arbitration Association® Rules, Codes and Protocols, and Contact Information – from anywhere.

Statutes and Regulations



OpenRegs - free - iOS
Recently issued notices of final and proposed rulemaking.

 

DroidLaw - free- Android
Contains the federal rules of civil procedure, evidence, appellate procedure, criminal procedure, bankruptcy procedure & the U.S. Constitution. 

 

U.S. Code -free- iOS
LawStack's developer's Tekk Innovations offers apps for multiple sections of the U.S. Code.

United States Constitution

U.S. Constitution Annotated - free - iOS 
The U.S. Constitution: Analysis and Interpretation app is a mobile version of the "Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation", a comprehensive analytical legal treatise prepared by attorneys of the Congressional Research Service at the direction of the United States Senate and issued as Senate Document No. 112-9. The app is presented by the Library of Congress using data provided by the Government Printing Office. 

United States Constitution - free - Android

A handy, self-contained reference to the Constitution.
Features:Searchable US Constitution and Articles of Confederation, Ratification Dates of Amendments, Bios of the signers, Declaration of Independence, Articles of Confederation, Gettysburg address
 




     Provide Website Feedback / Accessibility Statement